Drivers From These 13 Countries Can Now Skip the UAE Driving Test

For expats who dream of getting behind the wheel, passing the UAE driving test is a must. Now, authorities are making it easier for licensed-drivers from 13 more countries to receive a UAE driving license in exchange for theirs.

Make a swap for a UAE driving license:

According to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the following nationalities can now swap their license from home for a UAE driving license:

  1. Austria
  2. Slovakia
  3. Luxembourg
  4. China
  5. Portugal
  6. Finland
  7. Romania
  8. Denmark
  9. Serbia
  10. Poland
  11. Netherlands
  12. Latvia
  13. Lithuania

These 13 countries now exempt from taking the UAE driving test join a list of countries that can also replace their driving license within the UAE.

  • United Kingdom, USA, France, Japan, Germany, Italy, Belgium, Netherland, Switzerland, Denmark, Greece, Spain, Sweden, Ireland, Norway, Turkey, Canada, Poland, South Korea, Finland, South Africa, Australia, Romania, New Zealand, Singapore, Hong Kong, Austria, Slovakia, Luxembourg, and Serbia.

Take note that the list featured above is from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and differs from the list compiled by the RTA which includes:

  • Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Kuwait, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, USA.